A recommended course to enjoy the core of the old town in central Seoul and the mountain nature in the middle of the city while walking in the traces of history and tradition!
8) Hangyangdoseong Capital City Wall to Literary Museum of Poet Yun Dong-ju
9) Literary Museum of Poet Yun Dong-ju to Cheong Wa Dae (Blue House)
10) Blue House to Gyeongbokgung Palace
11) Return to Gyeongbokgung Station
7) The Forest Choso Chaekbang to Hangyangdoseong
The Seoul City Wall was originally built in 1396, surrounding Seoul (then known as Hanyang) during the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1897).
The wall stretches for 18.6km along the ranges of Bugaksan Mountain, Naksan Mountain, Namsan Mountain, and Inwangsan Mountain. The wall stands at average heights of 7 - 8 m high. Along the Seoul City Wall, there once stood eight gates that were originally built between 1396-1398, but only six remain standing. The North, South, East, and West gates of the wall are known as the “Four Great Gates” (Sukjeongmun, Heunginjimun, Sungnyemun, Dongeuimun), while the Northwest, Northeast, Southwest, and Southwest gates are known as the “Four Minor Gates” (Changuimun, Hyehwamun, Gwanghuimun, Soeuimun).
8) Hangyangdoseong Capital City Wall to Literary Museum of Poet Yun Dong-ju
After going down along the Hanyangdoseong Fortress, you will reach Poet's Hill, which leads to the Yun Dong-ju Literary Museum.
With a self-portrait as its motif, this is a museum that restored the Cheongun Hydraulic Auxiliary Plant and a water tank built to supply water to houses in the alpine area, which was previously used and abandoned. Just like the role of a pressure station that makes a slowed water flow strong again, I hope that Yoon Dong-ju's poetry will become a pressure station for the soul that reorganizes the waterway of the soul and makes it flow anew.
- Admission is free
Poet “Yun Dong-ju”
Yun Dong-ju (1917-1945) is the most loved poet by Koreans. His poems, such as “A Night of Counting the Stars” and “Foreword,” in which he did not give in to the reality of his country being colonized and stood up to death, give a deep resonance to this day.
On the road from Seochon to Buam-dong through Cheongun-dong, many places remind you of the poet, such as Yun Dongju Boarding House, Yun Dongju Hill, and Yun Dongju Literary Museum. The road to follow the footsteps of a poet who lived “without a single bit of shame toward heaven” is a time to look back on oneself.
9) Literary Museum of Poet Yun Dong-ju to Cheong Wa Dae (Blue House)
Cheong Wa Dae (Blue House, 청와대)
The signature markings of the Presidential Residence of Cheong Wa Dae are its blue tiles on the Main Office; it is the first thing to catch one's attention upon viewing the premises. Approximately 150 thousand tiles compose the roof of the Main Office. Each tile was baked individually to make them strong enough to last for hundreds of years. The blue tiles and the smoothly curving roofline blend beautifully with Bugaksan Mountain in the backdrop.
Cheong Wa Dae is comprised of the Main Office, Yeongbingwan (State Guest House), Chunchugwan (Spring and Autumn) Hall, Nokjiwon Garden, Mugunghwa (Rose of Sharon) Hill, and Chilgung Palace. It is interesting to see that all the buildings are unique and beautifully designed, built in the traditional Korean style. Just outside the premises is Cheongwadae Sarangchae, an exhibition hall showing the history of Cheong Wa Dae and the Korean presidency, as well as gifts received by heads of State over the years.
- Admission is free
Tour Routes and Information
★ Foreign travelers can enter after registering on-site (For Koreans, advance reservation is required).
◆ On-Site Application:
Application is only possible for seniors 65 and above, national merit recipients, and foreigners.
◆ Visiting Hours
March to November: 09:00 ~ 18:00 (Entrance Closed at 5:00 p.m.)
December to February 09:00 ~ 17:30 (Entrance Closed at 4:30 p.m.)
◆ Closed on Tuesdays
Cheong Wa Dae Main Building
The Main Building to the south of Bukaksan, Seoul's preeminent mountain since the Joseon era, is a central location where national affairs were presided over. It welcomed dignitaries as well as foreign heads of state and diplomats. Given the controversy surrounding the use of the building as the presidential office and residence by the Japanese governor-general of Korea during the colonial era, a new Main Building was constructed on September 4, 1991.
Designed to showcase Korea's traditional ethos, the Main Building encapsulates the country’s unique architectural style, and is divided into a central structure and wings on either side. The central structure is distinguished by being two stories tall, with a hipped and gabled roof topped with Korean blue tiles. The exterior finishing materials of the Main Building primarily consist of Korean granite and blue tiles. The surrounding landscape with pine trees and grass harmonizes with traditional Korean architecture.
Presidential Residence
Its living quarters and guest meeting areas are arranged in a “giyeok” (ㄱ) shape, and a traditional Korean courtyard and annex are located in the front yard. The main gate is built as a three-doored entrance and accentuates the ambience of a traditional Korean house.
Nokjiwon
Among the most picturesque spots in Cheong Wa Dae is Nokjiwon, which has more than 120 varieties of trees, including ones planted in commemoration of past presidents. In the center of the garden is a Korean red pine, which is 178 years old (as of 2023) and is 12.2 m high and 15 m wide.
Established in 1968, Nokjiwon was an outdoor event venue for domestic and foreign dignitaries and envoys. It has also been used for events on Children's Day and Parents' Day.
Sangchunjae
Sangchunjae, which means “a house where spring permanently resides,” is the reception hall for foreign dignitaries visiting Cheong Wa Dae and a venue for informal meetings.
During the Japanese colonial period, the residence of the governor-general of Korea, called Maehwasil, stood here. It was renamed Sangchunsil during President Syngman Rhee's tenure and was rebuilt in March 1978 as a Western-style wooden structure with a natural slate roof.
Later, it was renamed Sangchunjae and in April 1983 it was rebuilt as a traditional Korean house with an area of 417.96㎡, where it stands today in its current form.
Yeongbingwan
Yeongbingwan, inaugurated in December 1978 following its construction commencement in January of the same year, is a building where official events such as banquets and receptions are held when foreign dignitaries like presidents and prime ministers visit. The four columns on the front of Yeongbingwan, each 13 meters tall, with a circumference of 3 meters and weighing 60 tons, add to the grandeur of the building.
The interior of Yeongbingwan is adorned with motifs of Mugunghwa (the national flower of Korea), the Taeguk (symbol of peace), and laurel (symbol of peace). The first-floor hall was used to greet foreign dignitaries, while the second floor was used to host large luncheons and banquets.
Chunchugwan
Completed in 1990, its name was derived from the historical record-keeping offices of the Goryeo and Joseon dynasties, and signifies a commitment to rigorous historical documentation and the pursuit of a free press.
10) Blue House to Gyeongbokgung Palace
A highlight for many visitors is the daily guard changing and Gwanghwamun sentry ceremonies, along with the guards' public training sessions, which are held twice daily in the morning and afternoon. The palace also offers various experiences, such as the Saeng-Gwabang experience, nighttime openings, special tours of Gyeonghoeru, and stargazing night walks.
11) Return to Gyeongbokgung Station
If you have enough stamina and time, you can explore the east side of Gyeongbokgung Palace and Insadong-gil until dinner time.